top of page
WorkTies Banner_edited.jpg

WorkTies

The science of relationships at work

Our Mission

We are a group of scholars dedicated to studying the problems of creating and maintaining high quality connections in organizations.  The name comes from Jane Dutton and Emily Heaphy's 2003 chapter, in which they describe high quality connections as those having the ability to "literally and figuratively enliven people" at work. The goals of the site are as follows: 
 

  • To Aggregate insights about high quality connections in organizations for the manager or employee interested in improving relationships at work.  
     

  • To Disseminate knowledge about research relating to high quality connections and how such research can be beneficial to managers and employees alike.  
     

  • To Comment on real-world problems of managing high quality connections at work;
    showing "theory in action." 

 

We hope you enjoy the site and are able to create your own high quality connections!

Contributors

Dr. Kevin Rockmann, Co-Founder

Professor of Management

School of Business

George Mason University

krockman@gmu.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Jessica Methot, Co-Founder

Associate Professor of HRM

School of Management and Labor Relations

Rutgers University

jmethot@smlr.rutgers.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Amy E. Colbert

Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship

The University of Iowa

amy-colbert@uiowa.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Shoshana Dobrow

Associate Professor of Management

London School of Economics and Political Science

s.r.dobrow@lse.ac.uk

Personal Website

 

 

 

Dr. Jane E. Dutton

Distinguished Professor 

of Business Administration and Psychology

University of Michigan

janedut@umich.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Alexandra Gerbasi

Professor, Dean of the University

University of Exeter

A.Gerbasi@exeter.ac.uk

Dr. Beth Humberd

Associate Professor of Management

UMass Lowell

Beth_Humberd@uml.edu

Dr. Kathy Kram

Associate Professor of Management

Boston University

kekram@bu.edu

Dr. Wendy Murphy

Professor of Management
Babson College

wmurphy@babson.edu

Dr. Mandy O’Neill

Associate Professor of Management

George Mason University

ooneill@gmu.edu

Dr. Elizabeth (Bess) Rouse

Associate Professor of Management

Boston College

bess.rouse@bc.edu

 

 

 

Dr. John Paul Stephens

Associate Professor

Case Western Reserve University

john.p.stephens@case.edu

 

 

 

Dr. Roman Terekhin

Professorial Lecturer

George Washington University

roman.terekhin@email.gwu.edu

200204524_pp_small.jpg
Methot_Jessica_2.jpg
Wendy_Murphy.compressed.jpg
colbert.jpg
dobrow.jpg
DuttonJane.jpg
gerbasi.jpg
humberd.jpg
kram.png
O'Neill headshot.jpg
rouse.jpeg
IMG_5474.JPG

If you are interested in contributing to WorkTies, please contact us at worktiesblog@gmail.com for more information.

Roman Terekhin_photo.jpeg
bottom of page