WorkTies Banner_edited.jpg

WorkTies

The science of relationships at work

Our Mission

We are a group of scholars dedicated to studying the problems of creating and maintaining high quality connections in organizations.  The name comes from Jane Dutton and Emily Heaphy's 2003 chapter, in which they describe high quality connections as those having the ability to "literally and figuratively enliven people" at work. The goals of the site are as follows: 
 

  • To Aggregate insights about high quality connections in organizations for the manager or employee interested in improving relationships at work.  
     

  • To Disseminate knowledge about research relating to high quality connections and how such research can be beneficial to managers and employees alike.  
     

  • To Comment on real-world problems of managing high quality connections at work;
    showing "theory in action." 

 

We hope you enjoy the site and are able to create your own high quality connections!

Featured Contributors

Dr. Kevin Rockmann, Founder

Professor of Management

School of Business

George Mason University

krockman@gmu.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Jessica Methot

Associate Professor of HRM

School of Management and Labor Relations

Rutgers University

jmethot@smlr.rutgers.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Wendy Murphy

Professor of Management
Babson College

wmurphy@babson.edu

Personal Website

200204524_pp_small.jpg
Methot_Jessica_2.jpg
Wendy_Murphy.compressed.jpg

Dr. Amy Colbert

Leonard A. Hadley Chair in Leadership
Professor and Dept Executive Officer

Department of Management & Organizations
Tippie College of Business

University of Iowa

amy-colbert@uiowa.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Shasa Dobrow Riza

Assistant Professor of Management

The London School of Economics and
Political Science

s.riza@lse.ac.uk

Personal Website

Dr. Jane Dutton

Robert L. Kahn Distinguished

University Professor Emerita of Business
Administration and Psychology

Ross School of Business

University of Michigan

janedut@umich.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Alexandra Gerbasi

Professor of Leadership
University of Exeter

a.gerbasi@exeter.ac.uk

Personal Website
 

Dr. Beth Humberd

Assistant Professor of Management
Manning School of Business, UMass-Lowell

beth_humberd@uml.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Kathy Kram

R.C. Shipley Professor in Management, Emerita

Questrom School of Business

Boston University

kekram@bu.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Mandy O'Neill

Associate Professor of Management

School of Business
George Mason University

ooneill@gmu.edu

Personal Website

Dr. Bess Rouse

Associate Professor of Management and

Organization

Carroll School of Management

Boston College

bess.rouse@bc.edu

Dr. John Paul Stephens

Associate Professor, Organizational Behavior
Weatherhead School of Management
Case Western Reserve University

jps136@case.edu

Personal Website

O'Neill headshot.jpg
humberd.jpg
kram.png
rouse.jpeg
IMG_5474.JPG
colbert.jpg
dobrow.jpg
DuttonJane.jpg
gerbasi.jpg

If you are interested in contributing to WorkTies, please contact us at worktiesblog@gmail.com for more information.